Archive for December, 2004

Tsunami scammer: rescueteam.com

Friday, December 31st, 2004

It didn’t take long for the lowliest of low-life scammers to try to earn a buck on the tsunami catastrophe in South East Asia. The spam mail below is sent from a hijacked DSL connected computer in Thailand. The domain (rescueteam.com) is registered in the US, and has a history of being used for spam and fraud, but it is also used by legitimate users.

It is listed among many other red-flagged domains at
http://linkamerica.com/fraud.html
http://www.mall.freehosting.net/fraud.htm

The phone number in the mail goes to Britain, there is no website, and it just isn’t an international aid organisation.

It’s nothing but fraud. And it’s pretty horrible. Read the rest of this entry »

Lottery Scam from Mrs Susan De Meer

Wednesday, December 29th, 2004

I just can’t understand why some lottery scammers think that I would believe that someone would pick my e-mail address and assign it to a number, then randomly pick that number and try to send me 650 thousand Euros. But it looks like “Mrs Susan De Meer” or whatever her real name is, thinks I will fall for it.

I won’t of course, since I have no wish to send in a registration fee and then be ditched. What I will do, as I always do when receiving these lottery scam mails, is to publish it in hope that someone will search for the contents in the mail before sending in any money. Read the rest of this entry »

Comprehensive, interactive online guitar chord book

Friday, December 17th, 2004

Once in a while you find those excellent web recources that you have looked for so long. And in the case of the guitar cord book at chordbook.com, this is truely one of those occations. I have needed this site for so long! It’s an excellent interactive web based learning application. Especially for a guy like me, who never have been an expert player, but always have a guitar laying around. I can play, but I need lessons, and never have time for them.

www.chordbook.com/guitarchords.php

Guitar chord illustration: chordbook.com - At chordbook.com you find one of the best interactive chord books I have ever seen.

Virtual guitar and chordbook

Featuring a fully interactive flash-built guitar, allowing you to strum and hear guitar chords as well as see the finger positions. Once loaded you can access a database of 1,000+ guitar chords, make your own chords and use the ‘name chord feature to identify them, save them to your personal chordbank, mute strings, put on a capo and more.

Guitar Tuner

There is also an interactive guitar tuner on the site, which can be used to tune your own guitar. You chan select various tunings from a drop down list. Then press strum to hear the tuning played back or listen to indivitual strings played back.

Mrs. Tetyana Safonova and Mikhail Khodorkovsky

Sunday, December 12th, 2004

What is this? Christmas eve for small-time scammers with big plans? I’m swamped in a year-end tidal wave of emails featuring new and old scams. And it looks as if there’s a new crop of iscammers picking up the stick. Really bad formatting, spelling that is worse than mine, and this one doesn’t even seem to know his/her email address. Last time I looked .ro was Romania, and to my best knowledge there just isn’t any one-letter domains. At least not withing the .ro domain. Read the rest of this entry »

LUCKYDAY INTERNATIONAL PROMOTION/PRIZE AWARD DEPT.

Saturday, December 11th, 2004

The obvious question to ask yourself when you receive a mail saying you just won 900,000 Euro is to ask yourself if you bought a lottery ticket in that particular lottery. If you didn’t, the chances for winning are less than scares. However, this particular scammer has thought about this. So the mail claims that the “participants were selected through a computer ballot system drawn from only Microsoft users”. Well, I’m not. So why am I even in? Read the rest of this entry »

OY KEIKKAUS CONSOLIDATED UNITED EUROAMERICA LOTTERY

Monday, December 6th, 2004

Sorry for being a spoilsport, but if you received this lottery scam mail (that looks like a Finnish-Swiss-Brazilian joint venture), I’d just like to warn you against trying to claim any proceedings. Most probably, there aren’t any.

OY, is the Finnish abbreviation for Inc. Keikkaus sounds very Finnish to me, but the addres is in Zurich, Switzerland, the mail is sent off a brazilian site… Besides, a [länk2676:Google search for gives quite a jackpot as far as iScam warnings go. I do hope there isn’t a legitimate company with the same name. Read the rest of this entry »

Mrs Louisa Ejercitor Estrada, a Philipino iScammer?

Wednesday, December 1st, 2004

This is almost too good to be true! Either there is a whole new wave of internet based scammers, or they have all come together to target my various email addresses. I just found this email in my GMail account, which is hardly spammed at all. I have hardly used the GMail address outside a few mailing lists. Still Mrs. Estrada from the Philipines claims to have found my address in “a business journal”.

It’s only mildly entertaining, but just to think that “relatives” to former ministers from both Haiti and the Philipines have contacted me during the last week! Read the rest of this entry »

Saturday, July 12th 2008

New articles

Close
E-mail It